2016 Cross Country
Girls Sectional Preview

Back to Main Page

Note: As I say every year, this is just a projection. It's pretty much everyone's best Saratoga State Park times and some adjustments where I felt it was needed. I have no knowledge of runners that are out injured so I included just about everyone that has run but I have left out some runners that have been out for multiple weeks.

Girls: Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D

Jump to Boys Preview

Girls Class A - 12:30pm


What to looks for: Saratoga Springs comes off of a win last week at the Suburban Council championships and should win their 16th straight sectional title. The real fight will be for second place. Shenendehowa edged out Niskayuna last week and it will be close again. Guilderland did not have their best race last week but could turn it around and be in the mix. Individually, Saratoga's Kelsey Chmiel broke the Saratoga State Park record last week and is undefeated so far this season. The defending champion should repeat. Shenendehowa's Julia Zachgo and Hannah Reale, and Niskayuna's Abigail Spiers are the other runners in this field that have broken 18 minutes this season and will battle it out for second.



  Individuals     Team Scores Pts.
1. Kelsey Chmiel Saratoga Springs 1. Saratoga Springs 39
2. Julia Zachgo Shenendehowa 2. Niskayuna 63
3. Hannah Reale Shenendehowa 3. Shenendehowa 64
4. Abigail Spiers Niskayuna 4. Guilderland 103
5. Olivia Lomascolo Shenendehowa 5. Colonie 128
6. Peyton Engborg Saratoga Springs 6. Shaker 219
7. Emily Bini Guilderland 7. Bethlehem 222
8. Keellyn Cummings Saratoga Springs 8. Queensbury 234
9. Carly Vetter Saratoga Springs 9. Ballston Spa 246
10. Amelia Kokernak Niskayuna 10. Albany High 266
11. Kathryn Tenney Colonie 11. Columbia 318
12. Lexi Sciortino Niskyuna 12. Amsterdam 331
13. Amanda Chambers Colonie 13. Schenectady 375
14. Charlotte Kokernak Niskayuna      
15. Mari Ellen Penzer Saratoga Springs      
16. Eileen Bequette Albany High      
17. Charlotte Hartman Shenendehowa      
18. Hunter VonAhn Saratoga Springs      
19. Samantha Vetter Saratoga Springs      
20. Olivia Fanshawe Guilderland      
21. Olivia Lazarou Amsterdam      
22. Rachel Hodge Bethlehem      
23. Sydney Smith Niskayuna      
24. Hannah Gallagher Guilderland      
25. Erin Miceli Guilderland      


Girls Class B - 11:00am


What to looks for: Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake looks strong to win their third consecutive title with five in the top 12 right now. Schalmont looks strong for second with a solid top three in the top ten with Rotterdam foe, Mohonasen, battling with them. Individually, Eva Scott is the defending champion and looks like a strong favorite to repeat as she is the only runner under 18 minutes at Saratoga this season. Team Mate Rory Graham and Regina Rosati should battle for second as they are the only other two runners that are under 18:30 on the course.


  Individuals     Team Scores Pts.
1. Eva Scott Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 1. Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 34
2. Regina Rosati South Glens Falls 2. Schalmont 77
3. Rory Graham Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 3. Mohonasen 93
4. Emily Pahl Schalmont 4. Scotia-Glenville 121
5. Mya June Schalmont 5. Holy Names 138
6. Emma Sinisgalli Mohonasen 6. South Glens Falls 143
7. Skylar Sweet Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 7. Emma Willard 150
8. Kerry Flower Schalmont 8. Glens Falls 242
9. Anna Sherman Mohonasen 9. Ichabod Crane 249
10. Brianna Wagner Holy Names 10. Bishop Gibbons 281
11. Lily Digman Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 11. Gloversville 283
12. Monica Jerry Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 12. Averill Park 330
13. Juliana Geniti Scotia-Glenville      
14. Kristin McAlonen Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake      
15. Laure Meade Scotia-Glenville      
16. Macy Keegan Emma Willard      
17. Lara Cunningham Emma Willard      
18. Marielle Scott Burnt Hills-Ballston lake      
19. Madeline Vogel Holy Names      
20. Daley Jo Christman Gloversville      
21. Skylar Dailey Emma Willard      
22. Megan Linendoll Hudson Falls      
23. Kate Sherman Mohonasen      
24. Madison Ayers Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake      
25. Kianna Bennett South Glens Falls      


Girls Class C - 11:30am


  What to looks for: This basically comes down to the team with the best back end depth and Cobleskill-Richmondville is the team that has the best. With so many teams and so many runners it's tough for one team to really stand out. Voorheesville and defending champions, Chatham, are the ones to challenge but Cobleskill looks to be the favorite to win their first sectional title since 2006. Individually, Schuylerville's Ashley Watson comes in with the best time but did not have a good race at the Foothills Council Championships, running over 20 minutes. If Watson doesn't have another good race then it will be a quite the fight between Hoosic Valley's Carolyn Burnell, Cobleskill-Richmondville's Emily Johnson and the Greenville duo of Tess Fitzmaurice and Olivia Baumann are all within 10 seconds of each other.


  Individuals     Team Scores Pts.
1. Ashley Watson Schuylerville 1. Cobleskill-Richmondville 116
2. Carolyn Burnell Hoosic Valley 2. Voorheesville 156
3. Tess Fitzmaurice Greenville 3. Chatham 171
4. Emily Johnson Cobleskill-Richmondville 4. Fort Plain/Canajoharie 184
5. Olivia Baumann Greenville 5. Broadlabin-Perth 185
6. Sunni LaBounty Schuylerville 6. Schuylerville 202
7. Hallie Allen Chatham 7. Johnstown 206
8. Aylene Newman Johnstown 8. Hoosic Valley 208
9. Danielle Wallace Chatham 9. Greenville 231
10. Celina Onzo Broadalbin-Perth 10. Mechanicville 249
11. Julia Sarullo Johnstown 11. Fonda-Fultonville 253
12. Ashley Kubat Cobleskill-Richmondville 12. Cairo-Durham 266
13. Gabrielle Larsen Broadalbin-Perth 13. Corinth 322
14. Sarah Mattfeld Catholic Central 14. Hudson 334
15. Robin Wakeley Voorheesville 15. Albany Academy 371
16. Mariah VanAvery Fonda-Fultonville 16. Catskill 393
17. Tara Josberger Coxsackie-Athens 17. Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk 413
18. Samantha Murphy Broadalbin-Perth 18. Watervliet 416
19. Anika Parnell Corinth 19. Coxsackie-Athens 491
20. Danielle Rubino Mechanicville 20. Stillwater 503
21. Alexis Davies Catskill 21. Catholic Central 526
22. Leigha Gashel Cairo-Durham 22. Cohoes 552
23. Rebecca Viall Hoosic Valley      
24. Shannon Walsh Tamarac      
25. Sydney Wilson Voorheesville      


Girls Class D - 12:00pm


What to looks for: Between Class C and Class D Greenwich has won 12 consecutive sectional titles and the defending state champions shouldn't have a problem winning their 13th with five runners in the top eight. Duanesburg and Maple Hill will fight it out for the runner-up plaque. Individually, Greenwich's Brynne Wright and Emma Cronin went 1-2 last year and are favored again to do it but Maple Hill's Monica Strain will be in the mix with them.



  Individuals     Team Scores Pts.
1. Brynne Wright Greenwich 1. Greenwich 23
2. Emma Cronin Greenwich 2. Duanesburg 79
3. Monica Strain Maple Hill 3. Maple Hill 86
4. Quinn Collins Greenwich 4. Warrensburg/Bolton 145
5. Madison Relyea Mayfield 5. North Warren/Johnsburg 157
6. Elanie Atanasova Duanesburg 6. Saratoga Catholic 191
7. Annabel Gregg Greenwich 7. Argyle/Fort Edward 220
8. Jen Skeeter Duanesburg 8. Mayfield 224
9. Brooke Wright Greenwich 9. Berlin 226
10. Zoee Nadler Lake George 10. Galway 238
11. Allison Felts Maple Hill 11. Lake George 260
12. Natasha Strock Maple Hill 12. Schoharie 281
13. Chloe Littell Greenwich 13. Hadley-Luzerne 312
14. Allison Basile Maple Hill 14. Whitehall 410
15. Caroline Mundell Berne-Knox-Westerlo      
16. Isabelle Gulick Argyle/Fort Edward      
17. Nedelcu Eden Warrensburg/Bolton      
18. Alice Cole Duanesburg      
19. Cayla Hungerford Berlin      
20. Emily Schaeffer Duanesburg      
21. Summertyme Baker North Warren/Johnsburg      
22. Zoe Gavin Warrensburg/Bolton      
23. Haley Chaykowski-Jewett Berlin      
24. Ava Anderson North Warren/Johnsburg      
25. Hannah Phillips Argyle/Fort Edward